Image

So here I am at week 8.  Knee deep in the compost, up to my head with beans…when do I get my official title as Farmer Kim? Not quite yet.  Still just the apprentice…overworked, under appreciated apprentice.  Well I guess thats life. 

But enough pouting, lets get down to business.  So the farm has exploded since I last wrote (explosion in only the best way).  Cucumbers are growing so fast we can barely keep up harvesting them all before they over ripen.  I found a zucchini today that was about as big as bambam’s drumstick. We must have picked over 100 pounds of bush beans in the last few days and the tomatoes are showing the first signs of ripening.

It’s exciting.  Now I just have to tap into my inner Julia Child to create beautiful meals with all this wonderful food.  However between farming, cycling, running, taking the farm kids here and there and keeping in touch with everybody I have had little to no time to experiment with the veggies.  I actually made a recipe board for CSA customers to share their favorite recipes using the vegetables from the CSA, however even that is becoming quite the bummer and deteriorating, like our chinese cabbage crop.

So no recipes for now.  I’ll let ya know if I get inspired.

Image

But I have something even better.  So spending all this time with all these plants I am starting to get to know them pretty well.  Each plant is different variations on the color green, they grow in different sizes, horizontally vs. vertically, their leaves are shaped differently and they all have very distinct textures.  Some plants will leave you itchy (squash) and others will feel like little clouds gracing your skin (husk cherries).  But the most interesting (and in my opinion most beautiful) difference is their flowers.  So I have taken a bunch of pictures of the flowers of the plants followed by the picture of the fruit which grows out of it.  You can try to guess and test your farmer/gardening genius.

Image

 

Image

MELON!!

Image

Image

Peppers!

Image

 

Image

Eggplant!

 

Image

 

Image

Yellow Beans!

 

Image

 

Image

Summer Squash!

