One thing New York City is great for is all the cool people you are surrounded by.  Not only the famous people, but just like minded people who are interested in changing the world just as much as you are.

But the famous people are cool too.

These last two Tuesdays I have seen first Michael Pollan, and second Mark Bittman talk.  The only two times I have ever gotten excited about Tuesdays.

Image

Micheal Pollan spoke about his new book Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation. The premise of his speech, and his book which I’m loving (as I love all Michael Pollan’s books) is that cooking gives us control over what we eat, and therefore control over our bodies and our health.  We have been outsourcing out cooking to companies who add detrimental sugars, fats and salts which have widened our waistbands and increased our healthcare costs.

ImageImageImage

Michael Pollan repeated, the most important thing we can do to improve our health is start cooking.  No wonder why I like his books so much 🙂

Ok so Mark Bittman spoke today at Long Island University, as a part of a fundraiser for the Brooklyn Food Coalition.  It is a really cool and awesome coalition in the food movement, making some progressive movements in schools and communities alike.  Check out their website here.

Image

Bittman talked about our failing food system, a lengthy discussion for sure, but one which must be had. I can’t get into it now since I am procrastinating writing my research paper at the moment, but if you want to know more pick up Michael Pollan’s book In Defense of Food or Bittman’s book, Food Matters at the library.

I really enjoyed seeing how many people are not only worried about this (the failing health of our food system) but are taking steps to change it.  I hope I can join them soon.

Image

So here is to two great Tuesdays.  More in depth articles about both Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman’s speech will be posted on nyuspoon.com in the near future. (a new magazine at NYU about food on which I happen to be a staff writer, which is also probably why I have neglected my duties here).

