Image

Yeah Ok guys I am not even going to pretend, this attempt at a scrumptious, healthy pot pie failed in about every step of the way.  But I think I know why I failed.  No sleep = bad results.  We all need rest, which is something I learned this week.  

I have trouble knowing when to slow down. I was denying that I was sick, although my stomach was aching, my head pounding and the bags under my eyes were growing. I can’t be sick, I can’t miss class or practice, I need to go to that meeting, I need to roast this chicken for my blog! I kept telling myself I was fine, that I was getting better as I rushed through the subway to get to my job on time (during which I fell flat on my face, splaying my phone across the platform, forced to adorn some authentic ripped blood-stained pants to work).

Image

Image

Finally when Friday rolled around, I couldn’t take it any longer.  The pounding in my head, the constant nausea and pains.  I ended up in the health center.  They sent me home with a prescription for, can you imagine, rest.  Rest is a part of our health, in fact a very important part of our health.  Without rest our bodies can’t become restored and rejuvenated.  Our sicknesses linger, and sooner or later a small virus becomes a big problem.  

So I listened to the doctor, went back to my dorm and cuddled up in my bed and watched about every documentary on the US agriculture known to Hulu.  And now, guess what I’m better.  I am so focused on my health when it comes to eating healthily and exercising, yet when it comes to rest I fend it off like it is for wimps. Rest is something that I am working to integrate into my health regimen, because it is just as important as diet and exercise in life.

Image

So I made this during that crazy wreck and as a result it was somewhat of a crazy wreck itself.  Which is pretty disappointing because I was so excited about it.  I got the chicken from my local farmer’s market.  All sustainably and mindfully raised.  I was using my vegetables from the last CSA drop off.  This was the ideal meal (I think Michael Pollan would be proud), yet in reality it failed big-time.

First off, I didn’t defrost the chicken fully before cooking it so although my meat thermometer read 170 degrees Fahrenheit on the outside, (the temperature which poultry must be cooked to) when I got to carving it, the inside was still red, barely cooked, ugh gross! Second, the crust was I think the least appetizing thing I have had in a while.  It was thick and dry yet mushy and tasted like nothing.  Honestly after taking the pictures I threw it out. 

Image

So on account of that I am not going to give you guys the recipe because I don’t want you all to gag upon tasting such a travesty, instead I am going to give you the recipe for Julia Child’s Roast Chicken.  Something I hope to try soon, when I am well, with a completely defrosted chicken.

Julia Child’s Roast Chicken 

adapted from Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2-4 pound Chicken*
  • Lemon, thinly sliced
  • Onion, small
  • Celery leaves, handful
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 Carrots, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F
  2. Wash the chicken rapidly in hot water and dry thoroughly
  3. Season the inside cavity with salt, pepper, lemon slices, small onion and celery leaves
  4. Salt the outside of the chicken and rub the butter all over
  5. Place on a wire rack in a roasting pan, and put in oven for 15 minutes
  6. Take out after initial browning and reduce heat to 350 degrees F
  7. Baste with accumulated pan juices** and put back in oven
  8. Continue basting every 8-10 minutes until done, you will probably have to do this at least 5-6 times before chicken is done***

Notes

  • *Try to get one at your farmer’s market or a local farm or farm stand
  • **Baste means just use a big spoon to spoon up the liquid in the pan and pour it over the chicken.  All that juice that has fallen has delicious flavor that we want on the chicken.
  • ***Your meat thermometer should read 170 degrees F when chicken in done. Make sure to stick it all the way deep in the meat so you won’t end up with soggy uncooked chicken like me.
  • Here is a link to a video of Julia Child’s Roast Chicken for more information and a good time.

So remember take it easy, breathe some, put your feet up and relax, it’s good for you and me!

 

 

