Image

I can’t believe it has only been a month.  With all the things I’ve done, all the books I’ve read, all the friends I’ve made and all the weight I’ve gained it cannot have been just a month!  But thats college, its here and its gone.  And while its here I’m loving it!

This is also why I haven’t posted in a while…(look at me, pretending that I have major followers…).  But don’t fret! Because popovers are coming your way…

Image

Popovers.  Marion Cunningham writes in her cookbook, Lost Recipes, (given to me by two dear friends) “The glory of popovers in their incredible size, crusty outsides, and tender, creamy, almost hollow insides just waiting for butter and a spoonful of strawberry jam.”  The high egg content makes the dough puff up and crust, while maintaining a warm, moist interior.

However, mine didn’t quite work out that way…If I had read just a few lines down I would have realized that using a muffin tin to create these guys will form nothing but “popunders,” as Cunningham describes them.  Using ramekins or oven proof Pyrex glass baking cups would result in the beautiful crusty popovers Cunningham writes about in her book.

Image

But don’t fret! Yet again.  These are still delicious! (as was told to me by my floor before they ate them all up, which I thank them for, cuz right now the least thing I need is more butter in my belly) ( no guys I’m really not fat, its just college).  While the outside was not puffed up it was glowing golden-brown and the inside was as moist and delicate as ever.  The Thyme and Truffle Cheese really added depth to the popunder. The cheese added a sharpness which the thyme sprigs complemented with their earthy, fresh infusion.  All in all, it was a success.  This was the first time in my attempt to make these, but let me promise you it won’t be my last! (don’t fret you will definitely hear from me if I ever succeed with said Popovers.


Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tbs butter, melted
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese*
  • 2 springs fresh thyme, chopped**

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Grease seven small ramekins
  3. Beat all ingredients together with a whisk until well incorporated
  4. Pour mixture into cups evenly, mixture should almost reach the top in each ramekin
  5. Place the cups on a baking sheet and place in the pre-heated oven for 30 minutes
  6. Serve immediately

Notes

  • *Any sharp kind will work, parmesan, asiago, even a sharp cheddar would be great.  I got this cheese from a farmers market.  This farm milks its own goats and ages the cheese itself.  I love supporting business that knows and depends on the health of the farm.  
  • **You could also use rosemary, sage or any other early herb you have (dill maybe)
  • The popovers should slip out of the ramekins easily when done baking, so if your having difficulties pop them back in for a few minutes and then they should slip out fine
  • This recipe was adapted from Marion Cunningham’s cookbook, Lost Recipes.  Its a great book full of old-time classics and an oatmeal soup that I am excited to try!

Image

 

Alright well heat up that oven and get those over’s popping and enjoy every second of it!

