Image

Hello blogging world! I am definitely a newbie because I just wrote a whole post and then accidentally deleted it.  After my begging my computer to give it back came to no avail I huffed and started anew.  So hello, once again and welcome to my blog.

My name is Kim and I am an ex-ballerina and an aspiring nutritionist.  I have danced my whole life, and truly no matter what job title I wear deep down I will always be a dancer.  Dance is what has sparked my interest and love of nutrition.  Here I’ll give you the low down.

At the end of high school I deferred college to pursue ballet as a career and ended up in Boston at the Boston Ballet.  At the time I thought that I knew what to expect, I knew ballet wasn’t easy.  The stress, pressure and the politics that play into a dancers daily life.  However, I had no idea.  And soon the everything just became too much.  It was being on my own for the first time in my life on top of having to be in tip top shape and never showing how this was pressing on me during rehearsals. I watched as not only my own but also my friends health struggled from all this pressure.  I wanted to help them and myself become a whole healthy person.  And becoming a whole healthy happy individual starts off with your diet.  With approaching food as a friend rather than a foe and creating a healthy relationship with what you eat.  Therefore I decided to leave the professional ballet world and pursue Nutrition. 

Anyways enough about me lets get down to the REAL stuff.  Bread.  Yes, delicious fluffy on the inside yet crunchy on the outside whole-wheat french bread. Stuffed with nutrients to stave off cancer and prevent cramps, whole-wheat and grains are essential.  All these diet plans that compare bread with the devil are silly.  We need nutrients from food.  Wiping out an entire block of the food pyramid will only leave you with a lack of nutrients and a craving for that food!  So thats why were gonna make some delicious fresh from the oven real deal bread today. Lets begin.

Image

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 Tbs salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp yeast

Directions

  1. Mix the yeast, 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 1 cup of water in a large bowl. Let stand for 15 minutes
  2. Add the salt, remaining flours and water and knead into a dough, about 10 minutes
  3. Place the dough in an oiled bowl turning the dough once to lightly cover the dough with oil.  Let rise, covered by a towel, in a warm area for 2 hours.
  4. Punch down the dough and separate into 2 separate loafs. Let sit for 10 minutes
  5. Take one loaf and punch it down into a 6 inch round circle and then fold the edges to meet in the middle, punch down again and repeat
  6. Seal the edges by pinching them together and place seal down on an oiled backing sheet
  7. Repeat with the other loaf and let rise covered by a towel for 1 hour
  8. Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit
  9. Right before putting the dough in the oven make 3 parallel diagonal slits with a sharp knife on the top of each loaf
  10. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown

Notes

  • Adapted from http://www.holycowvegan.net/2009/09/whole-wheat-french-bread-step-by-step.html
  • In order to get the crusty outside place a pan of water on the lowest rack in your oven while the bread is baking
  • The recipe suggests to add 1.5 Tbs of salt however I thought 1 Tbs was suffice
  • Add fresh mozzarella, tomato and basil to take this amazing bread to the next level

ENJOY!

Image

